Archive for May 23rd, 2009

23
May
09

What is CHILLIN WITH MR. HUDSON!

BH_TW_Maler01

 

 

BH_TW_Maler02

 

 

 

TW_KW_Maler08

 

 

TW_KW_Maler09

23
May
09

What is Warhol!

The man that once famously uttered that “in the future everyone will be world famous for 15 minutes” is having three sets of his most popular prints offered by Opus Art at a helluva deal. Each portfolio includes 10 prints that are taken from the original screen.


23
May
09

WHAT IS STILL AMAZING!

Kanye West ft. Tony Williams & Young Jeezy – Amazing (Remix) mp3 // zShare link

23
May
09

What is confidence!

 

Now this is confidence!

Now this is confidence!

There have been times in my life when I was not feeling in the photo taking mode, for one reason or another. Sometimes, I wasn’t in the mood. Other times like when I was in first grade and had to stand next to a girl I didn’t dig so much, I took the photo with a scowl on my face. There are times when I have not cared for who was taking the picture with me and I just wanted to opt out; you could tell when looking at the photos, my body language was always out of sorts, a little cold and disconnected. I stumbled on this photograph and thought, Wow! It takes confidence to be captured on a photograph because a photograph is a record of where you were, what you were doing, what you looked like and what you had going on at the time. Years ago, that was more true than today, because we have so much photo-editing available to us, right at our fingertips, right on our desktops. We can edit noses to make them look smaller, eyes to make them look bigger, skin to make it look flawless removing scars, pimples, pits and even cellulite, we can reshape the body, we can even give a face someone else’s more appealing body or a rocking hard sexy body, the perfect face. These days, you can just take a photo shoot and with the stroke of a key turn the plain ordinary person into a runway model. When you dare just take candid photos, dare allow others to see you for who you really are in photos or otherwise, allow permanent records of what you really look like and/or who you really are to be on display, you have to have confidence.  How much editing and censoring would you do,if you had all the means to erase your imperfections before allowing people to see the “real” you?

23
May
09

What is rock hard!

I am always up for a good adventure. I love the outdoor. I enjoy running outdoors, but I am not sure how I would feel running up on this…

This is the true epitome of rock hard!

This is the true epitome of "rock hard"!

23
May
09

What is I’m drinkin’!

I am not really an aficionado  when it comes to “spirits”….

Can you guess what Im sipping today?

Can you guess what I'm sipping today?

 I like what taste good to me. I like cognac, red wine, pomegranate-blueberry juice and my favorite is cream soda.

23
May
09

WHAT IS CITIZEN COPE!

Citizen Cope is  … one of the most interesting artist i know.                                        

Citizen Cope is … a fusion of hip hop and blues.

Citizen Cope is … a soulful dude.

Citizen Cope is … a force that tugs at your soul.

Citizen Cope is … like a sip of Cognac (XO to be precise).

Citizen Cope is … definitely one of my favorite artist in the game today.      

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Be sure to check out Citizen Cope’s website and download the complimentery download of his new remix of “Sideways”!!!

23
May
09

What is shea!

I have not been a regular consumer of over-the-counter lotions in more years than I can remember and for various reasons, too many to discuss here. I have become accustomed to the thick, creamy, emollient rich unrefined yellow shea butter that we purchase straight from Ghana. The smell is nutty, but I blend in essential oils like patchouli, lavender, vetiver, frankincense, myrrh and even the extract of cognac. The shea butter is nourishing to my skin, the smells are inviting and people stop and ask me what it is that I am wearing. I, even, have had people beg me to tell them where they ,too,can purchase whatever it is that they smell.  I have been wearing my own shea and essential oil blends that  they are now my  signature smell. People smell my fragrance without seeing me and know who is in the building! You can try  a popular brand which is rather costly or you may consider making your own like I do.

I purchase only fair trade shea butter. I use it for my hair too!

I purchase only fair trade shea butter. I use it for my hair too!

39.00 for 4.9 ounces make your own for a fraction of the cost!

This is a popular brand 39$ for 4.9 oz, think about making your own!

 

This is how my shea butter arrives to my home.

This is how my shea butter arrives to my home.

23
May
09

WHAT IS BLACK WALL STREET!

A little- known chapter of African-American history in Oklahoma as told to Ronald E. Childs. If anyone truly believes that Columbine High School massacre or the on the Federal building in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, was the most tragic bombing ever to take place on United States soil as the media has been widely reporting, they’re wrong plain and simple. That’s because an even deadlier bomb occurred in the same state to forget that it ever happened. Searching under the heading of “riots,” “Oklahoma,” and “Tulsa” in current editions of the World Book Encyclopedia, there is conspicuously no mention of the Tulsa race riot of 1921, and this omission is by no means a surprise, or a rare case. The fact is, one would be hard-pressed to find documentation of the incident, let alone an accurate accounting of it, in any other “scholarly” reference or American history book. That’s precisely the point that noted author, publisher and orator Ron Wallace, a Tulsa native, sought to make nearly five years ago when he began researching this riot, one of the worst incidents of violence ever visited upon people of African descent. Ultimately joined on the project by colleague Jay Jay Wilson of Los Angeles, the duo found and compiled indisputable evidence of what they now describe as,

“The Black Holocaust in America.”

The date was June 1, 1921, when “Black Wall Street,” the name fittingly given to one of the most affluent all-black communities in America, was bombed from the air and burned to the ground by mobs of envious whites. In a period spanning fewer than 12 hours, a once thriving 36-black business district in northern Tulsa lay smoldering-A model community destroyed, and a major African-American economic movement resoundingly defused. The night’s carnage left some 3,000 African-Americans dead, and over 600 successful businesses lost. Among these were 21 churches, 21 restaurants, 30 grocery stores and two movie theaters, plus a hospital, a bank, a post office, libraries, schools, law offices, a half-dozen private airplanes and even a bus system. As could be expected, the impetus behind it all was the infamous Ku Klux Klan, working in consort with ranking city officials, and many other sympathizers. ( http://www.assatashakur.org/forum/shoulders-our-freedom-fighters/19015-black-wall-street-massacre-k-tulsa-race-riot.html )

While attending memorial services for a dear friend, Wayman Tisdale, the repass dinner was held at the Greenwood Cultural Center, the home of the Black Wall Street Memorial. To go as far into depth as this subject merits would take up too much time and space, however, I urge you to follow the links provided to make sure you educate yourself on such a noteworthy topic. What touched me particularly was on the back of the memorial there was a list of the names of all the businesses that were destroyed in the fire. The list read on and on, I stood in awe looking at the numbers of business; it was remarkable to see that African-Americans, even in the 20′s were so enterprising, despite the odds, the segregration, the threats, the racism!

P1000269

P1000277




May 2009
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.