Archive for June 3rd, 2009

03
Jun
09

What is Toe Jam! (the photography of Thomas Wuhrer)

 

 

  Continue reading ‘What is Toe Jam! (the photography of Thomas Wuhrer)’

03
Jun
09

What is SPACESHIP (THE LOST VIDEO)!

You don’t know how many times I felt the temptation to leak this video (…just playin Ye).  Man, dude would have had a fit,  but this was the first video I was ever a part of.  Imagine that, your video debut and Kanye says, “I don’t like it, I’m not gonna release it”. The song is also very special to me, it’s the song that “put me on”.  If you don’t know the story it went something like this.  It was the Christmas holidays, 2003, and the College Dropout was about 90% finished and World Famous was no where on it.  Why not? John Legend had been lacing all the tracks with his soulful background vocals.  But that cold day in December on the ride from the airport in Oklahoma City, Ye put Spaceships in the C.D. player an instantly, THAT  WAS MY SHIIIT!!!!  Heaven knows!! So I just started lacin’ that joint right there in the car while I was driving.  The following week I was in L.A. in the studio and thus, World Famous was born. Finally after all these years, Kanye wakes up on the right side of the bed, watches the video again and decides he likes it.  Wanna see it? Here it goes!

03
Jun
09

What is an Underdawg! (Magic in 7)

I thought about waiting a couple of weeks to address this subject because a certain set of events could make this, even more, interesting, and that is, if the Lakers lose.  If the Lakers lose, it ,not only ,spells a victory for the Magic, but a huge personal victory for Dwight Howard.  Once again, the machine we know as commercial marketing is guilty of creating larger than life “HYPE”!  Okay, okay, I agree that both Kobe and Lebron make for more interesting muppets than Howard.  I mean those commercials are FUN-NY! I thought they almost bordered on some South Park with the racial stereo typecasting.  I mean “the jive” was a bit over the top.  

In an interview after the Magic had just beat the hell out of Lebron’s Cleveland Cavaliers in game six of the Eastern conference finals, Dwight Howard stated in so many words that he was ,all but, offended and took it personal that the media never gave his Magic a chance to make it to the finals.  How often are we quick to champion as the victor- the popular choice? Was Lebron a “victim” of the hype.  I mean that’s a lot of pressure to live up to.  I’m sure he could see himself hoisting the trophy, he’s got a mind of a champion, but don’t you think that he could have been a more gracious loser had he not been thrown into that fire?  Do I think Lebron is the best in the game today?  Yes, I do and I ,always, pull for his success.  But I also have a thing for “underdawgs”. How many times have we all been in situations where people didn’t  give us a chance to win?  I guess that’s why World Famous is so humble (was that oxymoronic or what?).

So lets just say that Howard’s Magic does “upset” Kobe’s Lakers.  Will the media and all of the “believers of the Hype” owe Dwight an apology?  Will Kobe feel the same “fire” that Lebron did?  Will Howard show “class” or will he rub the victory in everyone’s face?  Well, we won’t know for a couple of weeks, but one thing I do know is that I’ll be pulling for the “UNDERDAWG”!!  MAGIC IN 7.

The games best and World Famous

The games best and World Famous




June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.