14
Jun
09

WHAT IS AN INTERESTING MUSIC VIDEO!

Okay, so lately i’ve been researching music videos. It’s involved referencing various obscure video in search of creative ideas as I prepare for the first releases of my upcoming album, “King or The Fool”. Why obscure? I find that the more interesting videos are those that are done by the independent acts with the smaller budgets. Why is that? Maybe it’s because the smaller the budget is that you have to work with, the more you focus on creativity. I’ve found some of the most eye catching music videos have been done for less than $7,000. These videos seem to be more about the “art”.

There have been very few popular videos over the last ten years or so that have intrigued me. There’s something about polished mainstream videos that seem so lackluster to me, not at all interesting.  Actually I really don’t check for videos and haven’t  in as many years.  I’m kinda thinking that the creation of the music video has had reverse effect on the quality of song writing.  It takes a video to market a song these days but I feel like there are lots of songs out that couldn’t stand alone these days.  Music of yesterday had to be well written  because they didn’t have the power of “the visual” to aid in it’s impact. My research has lead me to several overseas made videos. I’ve found these to be extra artsy. I recently scheduled a shoot for “The Crown” for the south of France.

Meanwhile, if there’s any directors out there that feel like they can bring that World Famous Tony Williams “edge”, then give me a shout, I’d love to work with ya!!!!

..here are some interesting references that i’ve run across…

rumor has it that this video was shot for less that $5,000…

This video link was recently sent to me by the director, Dereck Janniere. The video features the stop motion animation method which is a technique used to create animation by linking together thousands of still images. Remember the “flip books” at Disneyland? You’ll also see some similarities to the “Good Life” i think…   thanks Dereck..

 

                       I find this Portishead video interesting to look at..



0 Responses to “WHAT IS AN INTERESTING MUSIC VIDEO!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts


