09
May
10

What is Sewuese … “The Moment”

I love it when I see artist come into their own after years of hard, hard work.  Sewuese has been “gettin’ it in” for a minute now, and it shows.  I remember our first meeting in Nice, France in a the hotel lobby after a summer Festival performance a few years ago.  I had just gotten up from chatting with George Clinton and a few others from the P-Funk mob when she approached me and introduced herself.  I remember her thick brittish accent, “excuse me .. Mr. Williams … hey I’m Sewuese… I’m from London (or something like that, lol).  I also remembered that she seemed to be a determined artist and was about her business.

Occasionally I would receive an email or phone call from her, and we’d briefly talk shop and then generally end up with me giving an opinion on a track she was working on.  As time has gone on, those conversations have gotten fewer and further between until today when I looked in my mailbox.  I hope that you’ll take the time to get to know and enjoy the artistry of this U.K. artist as I have, and if you happen to see her, please let her know that World Famous looking out for her.. we might need that collabo!!!

4 Responses to “What is Sewuese … “The Moment””


  1. 1 Mo
    May 11, 2010 at 4:08 AM

    1st I heard her name, (her native ‘Tiv’ name) then I saw photo’s of a gorgeous lady! When she opened her mouth…it was like WHOA!! & there I was…shamlessly screaming @ the office during work hours. Like a starved fugitive that came upon food and shelter, I was eternally greatful for a lifeline when I listened…just few weeks ago, I moaned about the lack of good music, and everyone sounding the same these days.

    Sewuese hushed & reminded me of a timeless sound…sort of like…SADE or Celine D! Its a unique sound. Music in Tiv culture has a very unique sound &dance motion, thats what I though of while I listened.

    Sewuese isn’t a Tiv or a British brand…she just does music…creative, classy, clean world music! She appears to have gone through the ranks perfecting her craft from what I’ve read so far…if now is the opportunity to meet the world, well my dear…your entrance has passed with flying colours.

    All I can say is ‘God bless ya mama’, may the lord guide you in your endeavours and through the ups and downs…shine your light, and regardless where you are, Nigerians + the world will feel you…those that wanna hate, can go’on ahead…Thank you for gracing us with such a beautiful sound and good value for money! (I aint paid for what I heard yet though…lol)

    One request though…Akon is one of the few artist of African origin that stayed in touch with his roots and done collabo’s accross the continent, pls do stop by when you are ready…several great African artist will be ready to work with you. I jsut wanna come to your concert…Anyhow sha…do you.

    Lots of love…Certified True Music Fan! 9ja4life:)

  2. 2 emmanuel iorkyaa
    May 15, 2010 at 4:01 PM

    sewuese keep it on! God bless u.

  3. 3 Iveren
    May 20, 2010 at 4:38 PM

    Woohoo!!!! Huge, huge, huge round of applause my sister. I have watched this so many times, i know the words!… So true and beautiful!

  4. 4 Abie
    December 6, 2010 at 11:15 AM

    Well done babes am so proud of you. May God continue to bless you. xx


Leave a Reply

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates


