23
Jul
10

What is Prince 2010!!

The Amazing Prince Giveawaye… that was the heading of the insert in London’s Daily Mirror that announced Prince’s latesest phase of ‘man against the machine’.  Back in 1996 Prince released his Emancipation album which celebrated his release from his contract with Warner Brothers Records (the machine).  This time the machine is the internet.  Anyway, if you’re still kinda confused about what this all means, let me clear it up.  Last week, my man Prince gave… I repeat, gave (in this this context, the term being synonymous with free)  his latest album 2010 away in a newspaper.  There’ll be no downloads anywhere in the world because of his ongoing battles against internet abuses.  Prince, while expressing that he believes in finding new ways to distribute his music said, “… It’s the best way to go. No charts, no internet piracy and no stress. Period.”

I tend to study Prince’s moves very closely as far as industry matters go.  Dude is always on the cutting edge..  and as far as I’m concerned any artist that wants to be the poster child for maintaining total control of their artistry and money is alright with me.  However, I must admit, this time I’m having a hard time keeping up.  prince has banned YouTube and iTunes from using any of his music and has even closed down his own official website.  He says: “The internet’s completely over. I don’t see why I should give my new music to iTunes or anyone else. They won’t pay me an advance for it and then they get angry when they can’t get it.  Now, this is during a time when most artist are embracing the internet as standard tools of the trade, dude goes and throws a curve ball like this.  Prince goes on to say ….”The internet’s like MTV. At one time MTV was hip and suddenly it became outdated. Anyway, all these computers and digital gadgets are no good. “They just fill your head with numbers and that can’t be good for you.”

We’ll just have to sit back and see how prophetic the Sage one really is on this one.  Meanwhile,  I had a friend grab me up a couple of copies…..you’ll have to get your own.

".. no myyyy bruthaaa, you'll have to get your own..."

3 Responses to “What is Prince 2010!!”


  1. July 23, 2010 at 4:36 PM

    Gotta admit I’m pretty jealous w/ this one, lol. I wish I had some friends across the pond.
    Do you like the disc?

    I’m also curious about Prince’s new movements. I think it works for him, no matter how crazy it seems to everyone else. But as for a new paradigm in the music world? I doubt it…

    And would that really be something we wanted? Granted, piracy sucks, and today’s musical environment is hard to navigate. But to be in a world where you have to attach your music to another form of media for people to listen?

  2. July 23, 2010 at 5:41 PM

    Hey T
    I got one of the 2010 cd’s and I love it! 2 weeks ago he came to Roskilde festival and performed on the stage that you performed on twice (Orange stage). He was the last act sunday night 10PM, after 4 days of music (aprox. 200 acts)Normally most of the audience has left the festival by then, but this year all records were broken. Never had so many waited in line to see one artist, never had so many stayed for the last act etc. And let me tell you, we didn’t leave disappointed! OMG, the man is as we know “THE ARTIST”!!!!
    On a totally different note I saw Missy Elliott tonight…… As much as I love her I must say, damn girl, you could have done better than an hour with a turntable and a lot of “hypeing” the crowd. That was a $80 disappointment!
    B good
    Later
    Let me know if you come this way (I’m in Copenhagen again)
    Marlow

  3. August 15, 2010 at 2:55 PM

    lol @ no my brutha, you got ta gettt ya ownnnn!


Leave a Reply

July 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates


