02
Nov
10

What is the gap!

This post was inspired by an article that I ran across with the headlines “Gap-toothed woman are in vogue.”  Oh really?  “In vogue, like… we get a season?  It never ceases to amaze me that at given times certain  “looks” are more in vogue than others. You hear the songs talking about ” light skin” being in, “dark skin” being out, tall dark and handsome being the preference for sistahs; “yellow bones being the preference for brothas, on and on it goes. I, even read, an article that El Debarge was bringing  ” light skinned back” with the looks that he equates are a  version similar to Clark Gable’s. I remember a recent conversation with one very well known rapper (even more World Famous than I) stopping to recompose himself after initiating a conversation with me that started with, “I just came from the dentist and got every space in my mouth closed up.”  Just recently, even more ,to my surprise was the recent attention that gap-toothed chicks are receiving. I read a blog that mentioned that now gaps are in vogue and that the models during Paris’ Fashion Week were sporting them just as confidently as they were sporting the latest runway fashions. The article speaks to the fact that the “mid-line diastema” has become intriguing as we become more tired with “cookie cutter” beauty(Btw, i learned that this ‘mid-line diastema’ is the dental term for the gap). As a result, the models, during this season’s Fashion Week, did not feel the usual pressure to “correct” this current beauty marker. I guess what I appreciate about myself is that I do not subscribe to the notion that any one look is more “en vogue” than another. I have always appreciated what was not “cookie cutter”. I remember having a crush on the lady on the original 1970’s “Electric Company”.  That same lady was used as cover art on one of my favorite GAP band albums.  Over the years, when the diastema was not vogue, one could not deny that Pam Grier, Susan Taylor, Madonna etc. were attractive women, moreover, it was probably that “diastema” that made them so appealing. Growing up, I recall how beautifully my Aunt Donda, (Kanye’s mother) sported her gap with that infectious smile that could light up any room. I inherited that same gap, so I guess my looks in vogue. Hope us, gap havers don”t go out of style anytime soon!

8 Responses to “What is the gap!”


  1. November 9, 2010 at 5:13 PM

    WE ALL KNOW………THE WORLD FAMOUS AIN’T EVER GOING OUTTA STYLE!!!

  2. 3 Ms. West
    November 9, 2010 at 11:34 PM

    This may be my favorite post of yours. Some women think that a gap is a major flaw and wouldn’t date a man with one. I also have male friends who think the same about women. To me, a gap is like red hair, freckles, moles, birth marks etc. It is an exceptional ‘flaw'(I use that term loosely) and I’m glad that you’re proud to rock it. And yes, your Auntie had a beautiful smile and so do YOU.

  3. 4 PJ
    February 7, 2011 at 4:46 PM

    Great read! I, too have a “mid-line diastema” and I recall years ago wanting to have it closed, but my Dad asked me not to because it was inherited from another family member. I have never really been uncomfortable with it (probably because it is not as pronounced). I never gave it anymore thought after my Dad’s request and knowing that it is a part of my heritage is more important to me than vanity! Thanks, Tony!!!

  4. 6 Eric Johnson
    August 11, 2011 at 3:30 PM

    I had a gap too! …Until some knocked it out a Millwood high and I had to get falsies….

    Hey brother this EJ..Eric Johnson class 81 ..living in Chicago area the last 17 years. I cracked up when I saw this blog and it was even funnier when I saw it was you. Good to see you doing well and having fun


Leave a Reply

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Posts

Twitter Updates


